General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

1964 cutlass fuel gauge

Search this Thread

Old March 25th, 2014, 06:02 AM

Smile 1964 cutlass fuel gauge

Fuel gauge needle sits at extreme right when ignition on. I disconnected the positive wire to the sending unit and turned the key on and the gauge needle still sits all the way to the extreme right. I am told that connection to the fuel gauge behind dash is possibly loose. I cannot find any mounting screws that hold the dash in. If I look up underneath the dash I can see the fuel gauge with a circuit board behind it.
My question is, what is the best way to obtain access to the gauge so I can test it and check all the connections. It could be shorted out or a connection, positive or ground is disconnected. How do you get the dash out without damaging the facia. I am new at this so I need to be careful. I could install an aftermarket fuel gauge by wiring it to the power source and to the sending unit. By the way, the sending unit is brand new, was installed during renovation of trunk and fuel tank. Even before that was all done, the fuel gauge was still stuck to the right when the key was turned on. Thanks for your help, JM

Last edited by Jonmueller1; March 25th, 2014 at 06:04 AM. Reason: correct speeling cutlass on header
Old March 25th, 2014, 06:17 AM
Administrator

Ground the wire at the fuel tank with the key on. If the gauge goes to E then it's your fuel tank sending unit. The fuel tank sending unit is a rheostat that supplies varying levels of ground. The other side of the gauge is supplied constant 12v.
Old March 25th, 2014, 09:07 PM

As oldcutlass implies, the gauge is most likely not the problem. It's more likely the sending unit, and to test it, do what oldcutlass says.

Take that positive wire that you disconnected from the sending unit and ground it. THEN turn the key on. If the needle goes to E, then the dash gauge is fine, and your problem is the sending unit.