windshield wiper issue???

Search this Thread

Old July 20th, 2013, 02:45 PM

Angry windshield wiper issue???

Well guys, thought this would be simple....but:

on 1964 olds cutlass 442 my windshield wiper blew the fuse, ok replaced blew again. OK, run a direct jumper from battery to motor, works like a champ. So I have a short, tried to find, but hard to locate. So I remove the wiper switch from the dash, and it is one lead, checks out ok, so I figure it completes the ground to the motor, np. So I build a jumper from the battery to the wiper motor and place the switch in the loop, OK. But now I reattach the battery cables and it frys the wire on the positive side of my jumper??? Is my wiper motor maybe shorted ??? not sure whats going on hoped on of you guys has schematic

For christs sake Im an elec engineer,,,, what a loser Grin let me know if you have any ideas

Thanks Sixtyfour
Old July 20th, 2013, 04:13 PM

Given that the wiper motor works OK when you run a wire directly to it from the battery, it would seem unlikely that the wiper motor itself is shorted. But since fuses are blowing, it seems you have a short in the circuit somewhere.

I've never been a fan of jury-rigged wiring specifically because of what happened to you. What you're doing may ultimately result in damage to the car and/or serious injury or worse to you.

It would be much better to trace the wiring and find the short. If you don't have one, you might also find the 1964 factory service manual helpful as it has an extensive section on the wiper system operation with wiring diagrams and troubleshooting sections. If you don't have a manual, you can find one online for free at wildaboutcars.com. The section you want starts on page 13-54.
Old July 20th, 2013, 04:40 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

+1. GM wiper motor designs were "interesting" to say the least, but should be manageable to an EE.