Start up problems on 68 442

Search this Thread

Old April 21st, 2021, 07:39 AM

Start up problems on 68 442

Hey guys, this is probably a simple diagnosis for you all, but I’m a newbie.
I drove my car 20 minutes so it was well warmed up. Stopped for gas, turned off engine, when I tried to start it up, it will turn over like a half turn. When I jumped the battery it started right up.
I changed the starter last year, the battery is two years old and shows 12 volts on a meter after I got home. The alternator is unknown how old it is. Does this sound like what happens when an alternator goes bad? Thanks for the help. —Billy
Old April 21st, 2021, 08:15 AM

It sounds like your starter heat soaked and/or you have a bad ground or positive lead. If you have about 14V running, your alternator is fine
Old April 21st, 2021, 08:38 AM

What are the symptoms when the alternator goes bad?
Old April 21st, 2021, 08:52 AM

Originally Posted by Billyaxe
What are the symptoms when the alternator goes bad?
The most noticeable is the headlights dim and your voltage drops below 12V. When the battery voltages gets low enough it will no longer be enough to charge the coil and the engine will stall. If headlights aren't on, and the voltage is low enough, as soon as you turn the headlights on the engine will stall.

The easiest way to test it is to put a voltmeter across the battery terminals with the engine running and see what the voltage is (without the jump pack on). If you recently charged the battery you can actually watch the voltage drop if the alternator isn't putting anything out

Last edited by allyolds68; April 21st, 2021 at 08:56 AM.
Old April 21st, 2021, 08:56 AM
Administrator

At 12v, your battery is dead. I would start with giving the battery a good charge and cleaning the battery terminals and cable ends. With the engine running measure the voltage at the battery, should be around 14+/- volts. A fully charged battery is 12.6v, the .6 is very important.