someone please help me....

Search this Thread

Old December 25th, 2008, 12:30 PM

someone please help me....

i have a 72 cutlass supreme, and the car has been somewhat restored ( the reason i say this is bc there have been alot of cooks in the kitchen...if you know what i mean)

so here is my issue, new battery, new alt, new regulator (actually 3) i can charge my battery and it runs fine, when i get to my distination, i cut the car off and it wont start back up, so basically my alt isnt charging...so i thought...i had the alt tested, it is fine, the battery is new as well. i have changed the regulator, and it seems to work, but then after awhile it goes bad again, same issues. so i started testing power and i have good power to the alt. i started testing the regulator i un plugged the 4 wires, and i got power from two of the four ( i think two are for the guage, not sure) but here is where it gets interesting (keep in mind i am not good with Electrical issues) the red wire and i think a black wire show good power, then i plug it back into the regualtor the black wire(first one, closest to the hood) when i test it it is very very dim, like it isnt getting that much power, then i unplug and the test light gets very bright, so is it the regualtor? i am at a loss...please help, i hope this is clear. thanks

quick update....i have some time to kill, i did the "draw" test. i connected a test light from the positve battery cable (which is new, same with the negative cable) and to the positive terminal on the battery, is does show a very dim pulsating (blinking) draw, i pulled every fuse including the flasher and it didnt go off, i then started pulling off other plugs, coil, regulator, alt (both plugs) temp switch, oil light, it didnt turn off, please let me know if you have any ideas, i am going to pull my hair out. thanks

Last edited by krosser; December 25th, 2008 at 01:10 PM.
Old December 25th, 2008, 01:46 PM
Seasoned beater pilot.

Starter solenoid?