Signal Lights and Window Lifts 1971 98

Search this Thread

Old October 8th, 2012, 06:31 AM
Big Easy

Hi All,

I'm new to Oldsmobile's and to this site ... seems like a GREAT place to be!

The signal lights on my '71 98 stopped working at the same time as my window lifts. 4-ways still work. The fuse was blown and I replaced it ... it blows the instant I turn on the ignition switch. Have not found the flasher yet, could a bad flasher cause this immediate "short"? Any ideas?

Have not looked into the windows yet. They are at least "up" so I can drive the car. But the A/C doesn't work and I've been hot a day or two. Is there some type of circuit breaker under the hood for the lifts? No way that much draw could be on a fuse.

As I am new to these cars, any idea where I can get a service manual ?

thanks to all

Byron
Old October 8th, 2012, 07:35 AM

Cool car! Is that it in your avatar? Someone is standing in the way!

Service manuals for your car are on ebay all the time. Here's one for sale right now.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1971-OLDSMOB...312719&vxp=mtr

For servicing the power windows, though, as well as many other interior, body, and trim parts of the car, you'll need the 1971 Fisher Body Manual. While GM published separate chassis service manuals for each of its car lines, there was only one body manual each year, and it covered all the model lines.

Here's one for sale right now, but there are others if you search around.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1971-Fisher-...b70cf9&vxp=mtr

You can also access the 1971 Oldsmobile Chassis Service Manual at wildaboutcars.com. It's free to join, and access to the manual is free. But as I said, power window servicing is not covered in the CSM. You need the body manual, and that's not yet available for 1971 at wildaboutcars site. However, it's still worth joining.