Newbie, bunch of problems with cutlass electrical

Old December 24th, 2013, 11:10 AM

Newbie, bunch of problems with cutlass electrical

Hi all, I'm a newbie to these forums as well as to the cutlass I bought about a month ago. I love it and it runs well, but seems like it has a host of electrical problems.

First, the electric rear defroster doesn't work. The light on the dash comes on but the defroster doesn't seem to do anything. I haven't metered the wires going into the window yet but what should I be looking for?

Also the radio doesn't seem to work. It lights up when I turn the **** on, but can't get anything to come in. I believe it is the original AM only radio but I'm not completely sure of the functions of it, any pointers?

There are other problems, but those are two big ones I would like to get fixed. Any help anyone could provide would be great. It is a 72 Cutlass Supreme, 5.7L 350. If there is any other specific information I should provide, let me know.
Old December 24th, 2013, 11:30 AM

Do you have a factory service manual? If not, that is money well spent. Don't buy a cheap Haynes manual, find a factory manual, its well worth it. If I remember there is a circuit breaker that powers the defroster grid, a timer that plugs into the fuse box, and it is wired into the charging system ( assume to keep it from operating unless the engine is running).

Start your diagnostics by inspecting the connections at the glass. One side will have power, other side is ground. If you lightly touch a test light to the defroster grid wire, the test light should light up. As you slowly move the test light to wards the ground side of the window, the test light should get dimmer. Check every wire, the result should be the same and even.

That is a pretty rare option. I have seen it in the service manual, but never in person. The blower style defroster is pretty common. Good luck!
Old December 24th, 2013, 11:32 AM