Alternator makes a LOUD squelching sound

Search this Thread

Old May 8th, 2011, 06:44 PM

Alternator makes a LOUD squelching sound

I just noticed this happening when I punch the pedal down quickly. I get a loud squelching sound from the alternator area. This only happens if I punch the pedal quickly though not always. I had my wife hit the gas a few times in park while I listened with the hood up and it's definitely coming from the alternator area. I'm new at all this stuff but I assume a slipping belt wouldn't create this squelching sound? (Belt is tight) Just trying to cover my bases...again this only happens mostly when I punch the pedal quickly rather than gradually pushing the pedal down. Driving under cruising conditions creates no sounds from the alternator area.

Thank you for any ideas.

1969 Cutlass S 350 2-barrel
Old May 8th, 2011, 07:16 PM

Well it does sound like it's a slipping belt. Are you sure it's the correct belt? Also what shape is the belt any glaze on the sides where it rests in the pulley?
Old May 8th, 2011, 07:19 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Sounds like a loose belt.

How old are your belts?

How tight is "tight?"

- Eric
Old May 8th, 2011, 07:24 PM

Originally Posted by atkinsom
I just noticed this happening when I punch the pedal down quickly. I get a loud squelching sound from the alternator area. This only happens if I punch the pedal quickly though not always. I had my wife hit the gas a few times in park while I listened with the hood up and it's definitely coming from the alternator area. I'm new at all this stuff but I assume a slipping belt wouldn't create this squelching sound? (Belt is tight) Just trying to cover my bases...again this only happens mostly when I punch the pedal quickly rather than gradually pushing the pedal down. Driving under cruising conditions creates no sounds from the alternator area.

Thank you for any ideas.

1969 Cutlass S 350 2-barrel