70 Supreme Conv curtesy and running lights

Search this Thread

Old July 2nd, 2018, 04:37 PM

70 Supreme Conv curtesy and running lights

Here are the symptoms and I'm hoping to find a cure. Courtesy light fuse blow immediately - no instrument lights - running lights are always on when the car is turned on. All other lights function fine. Am I looking at more than one problem or are they related somehow? Needless to say I'm not an electrical engineer
Old July 2nd, 2018, 06:59 PM
Administrator

The courtesy lights are on the same circuit as the clock and lighter. Unplug them both and see if the fuse still blows. Is the dimmer on the light switch turned all the way to the left (CCW) to the courtesy position? If you turn the **** back and forth does the instrument lights come on? Is the instrument light fuse blown? What are you calling running lights?
Old July 3rd, 2018, 05:41 AM
Old(s) Fart

Spend a few minutes tracing that circuit on the wiring diagram. Note everything connected to that fuse. One of the things you will find is that there is a pigtail under the master cylinder that powers the optional under hood light. Every car came with this, and it often gets nicked or pinched when work is done in that area. This will immediately cause the fuse to blow.
Old July 3rd, 2018, 06:10 AM

I had a bad element in my lighter. if was pushed in it would immediately blow fuse. Then if replaced fuse would blow again. If lighter was pulled back out, ok until pushed in again, that was a easy fix that time.
Old July 3rd, 2018, 11:31 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by mmitton
Thanks for all the help - I may be getting closer. I disconnected the clock and the lighter but the fuse still blows immediately. I'm thinking Joe's idea of the pigtail serving the under hood light is a possibility - there appears to be some sort of junction box there and the wires look like they might have been fried - picture attached.