69 Delta 88 issues

Search this Thread

Old March 20th, 2014, 07:23 PM

Unhappy 69 Delta 88 issues

First off, I am not a mechanic. I can do basic mechanical work but electrical work is beyond me. I was in my hometown last week where my Olds is parked. Seven years ago I had an engine rebuild and body work done only too have a pecan tree fall on the car. It has been sitting ever since. Home on leave and finally started out getting the car back on the road by changing spark plugs, rotor cap, distributor cap, oil and battery. Was able to start the car 5 or 6 times but then nothing. Replaced 10 gauge wire from positive post on battery to an electrical block (?) mounted on the drivers fender (in the past when car wouldn't start it was due to this wire) and changed voltage regulator mounted on firewall. Car still wouldn't start. When I turned the key I would hear a click and then it was dead. Then I replaced the Alternator (tested at auto store and it was bad) and the Starter. Ran out of time but plan to spend a few days back home soon. Besides replacing ignition coil what else should I be looking at? Thanks
Old March 20th, 2014, 07:51 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

You can't fix a car by just randomly replacing whatever parts you happen to spy that have wires coming out of them.

You need to troubleshoot your problem, and then fix the part that is bad.

While it is possible that your alternator was bad, it probably had nothing to do with this problem, and all of the other stuff definitely didn't need to be changed.

First question: Is your battery fully charged?

Next question: Did you clean the battery terminals and the cable clamps (inside the holes) until they shined?

Next question: Are the cable clamps corroded or dull where they attach to the wires (especially if you have cheap replacement clams installed)?