Tri-5 Olds parts interchange

Search this Thread

Old December 17th, 2008, 07:17 PM

Tri-5 Olds parts interchange

I've got a '56 Olds 88 coupe. I'm new to Olds and want to know:

1) What references are out there to tell me what Pontiac/Chevy/Buick parts from 1956 will interchange with my 1956 Olds 88.

It looks like windows/windshields will swap. I'm assuming some other parts will as well.

2) Any place to go for 324 Rocket upgrade/rebuild/performance parts?

3) Where are the ID tags and data plates on these cars? All I see on mine is the VIN tag in the driver's front door jamb.

4) What upgrades do people do to the front/rear suspensions? Brakes?

5) Thought about swapping my engine/trans (324/auto) for a modern fuel injected ZZ4 and 700R4 or something...any sites articles for this?

6) Anyone ever airbagged their '56?

7) Who repairs/restores instrument clusters?

8) Where do you go for A/C parts? My car has the original rear mounted A/C unit and 2 clear plastic vent hoses going up through the rear package shelf. It's pretty cool...never seen that before.

Thanks a million!

Rat Rocket
Old December 17th, 2008, 08:29 PM

5) Thought about swapping my engine/trans (324/auto) for a modern fuel injected ZZ4 and 700R4 or something...any sites articles for this?
Rat Rocket [/quote]

why not a 455
Old December 17th, 2008, 08:29 PM

Buy a Flat Rate manual. Either '56 '57 '58. These Flat Rate books go a couple years back. This is a great tool for part numbers and what interchanges with other divisions. Try Egge or Terrill Machine for new parts for the 324. Hop up performance parts are usually on Ebay - alot of milti - carb intakes can be found easily. And a '56 with clear plastic tubes by the package tray? Never seen that before. I'm not going to entertain your modern fuel injected question
Old December 17th, 2008, 09:04 PM

Ratrocket
I have a 56 Ninety Eight