New member 78 Delta 88 Royale

Search this Thread

Old October 18th, 2006, 08:11 AM

New member 78 Delta 88 Royale

Hi everyone! This is the board I've been looking for. My son and I have been working on what is now his first car (he turned 16 last spring).

I have been working on old cars and motorcycles for over 30 years myself. When the opportunity to get my father-in-law's old 1978 Delta 88 Royale four door to tinker with, we didn't pass it up.

The car has 91,000 original miles on it and was inside most of its life. Michigan road salt had started to take it's toll around the edges, though.

After the car had been just sitting for several years we tackled it.

I told my son, "First we'll make it stop, then we'll make it go, then we'll worry about appearance."

The brakes were completely shot. I mean everything.... Every hard line, rubber hose, caliper, wheel cylinder, e-brake cables, etc. was replaced. Also on the safety list was 4 new tires. This after the tread separated from the tire carcass going down the road. The tire really showed no sign of being bad, but age had gotten the best of it.

Once we got past the brakes we worked on the 350 4bbl R code motor. It really needed very little. New cap, rotor, plugs and wires and a carb rebuild and then some tuning and that was set. We had a local guy bend a dual exhaust system for it with turbo mufflers (reverse flow). It has a pleasant exhaust tone, but not obnoxious.

He has been driving it as a good running, good stopping, good sounding, but kinda ugly car for several months. Over the last few weeks, we tackled the body.