Rear end i.d. help needed.

Search this Thread

Old April 11th, 2012, 05:40 PM

Rear end i.d. help needed.

Newbie here trying to i.d. the rear end on my 1969 Cutlass S car. I read the rear ends on these cars are a tad different. The car was born with an a/t and a/c. The outer housing cover is a 12 bolt and it is a peg-leg. I definitely want to change the ratio with a posi unit in the 3.42 or 3.72 range. Rebuild costs, qualitymvendors on this site? Any tips to identify what im starting with? Thanks.
Old April 11th, 2012, 06:10 PM

Unless the car was built in Canada,it came with a 12-bolt O-axle.They have a 12-bolt cover with a 10-bolt ring gear.Richmond makes two ratios for this rear,3:42 and 3:90.There are a few options for new posi carriers,available from myself,or Monzaz.He can fill you in.Basicly,if you want to rebuild the entire rear,with new gears,posi unit,and all the bearings/seals,etc.,you are looking at about $900.00 in parts.
Old April 11th, 2012, 06:30 PM

Thanks for the quick reply 507, appreciate it. The rear end/car only has 33k miles on it, is it necessary to do a total rebuild or are there options there? What other years/models will bolt up? Thanks again.
Old April 12th, 2012, 05:42 AM

rear bearings and rebuild

Well NOW...That all depends on you and your car. IF you want to take a chance and you can determine good bearings from bad bearings give it a try...

IT is always a MUST to do seals as sitting or running they will GO BAD. Also with a rebuild kit you get all the parts you need to TOTALLY rebuild the rear from gasket, crush sleeve, bolts for the ring, pinion nut, pinion seal, all the shims to adjust pinion depth and Backlash, not to mention all the bearing in the rear center section... AXLE BEARINGS and seals are extra and not including in the rebuild kits as there are 2 different ones they can be depending on the year so we add them in later if needed.
Posi units are NEW -Recondition -
Eaton , trac lock, true trac etc.