Desperately Seeking Overheating solution!!!

Search this Thread

Old August 1st, 2011, 07:08 PM

Exclamation Desperately Seeking Overheating solution!!!

So I am brand new to the Olds Cutlass world...
I just picked up a 1970 Cutlass S. Problem is it keeps overheating. I changed out the t-stat twice, first with a 195, now a 180. Changed the water pump and the fan clutch. I drive it 3 -4 miles and the overflow jug is just boiling mad!
Today I decided to drive it to work (2.5 miles) and a couple of errands throughout the day (maybe 10 - 15 miles). All day I ran the heater (even though its 107 outside today!). No problems all day. This evening I was cruising around and when I was 1.2 miles from the house I switched over to A/C and within 30 seconds, it was getting hot. Pulled in the drive and the overflow was filled and boiling again...
It's driving me mad trying to figure this out... any pointers are welcome!

PLEASE HELP!!!

PS The car has been sitting in a garage for 3 years undriven or started. Since Friday it has also got a new battery, radiator flushed, oil changed...
My thought is it could be the heater core, but I'm really unsure of where to go next... HELP!

Last edited by 70 350 Cutlass S; August 1st, 2011 at 07:17 PM. Reason: Additional info..l
Old August 1st, 2011, 07:24 PM
CQR

Not likely a heater core causing an overheat. Have you checked the fins of the radiator for debris? The A/C condenser can look clear but the rad fins can get a lot of fuzz/ hair/leaves/etc and cause an air flow problem. Also, Does your radiator cap hold pressure?
Old August 1st, 2011, 07:24 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Is it overheating or is the overflow bottle filling up?

You said nothing about the engine temperature - only the overflow bottle.

Is it filled with 50:50 water:antifreeze?

- Eric
Old August 1st, 2011, 07:28 PM

I have fully washed out the fins... as I use the hose when it is overheating...

Not sure about the actual temp (no gauge).
It is filled with 50:50 water/freeze