The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

National Anthem

Search this Thread

Old February 5th, 2021, 08:13 AM

National Anthem

Found this. Being a Veteran I felt a need to post it. I usually mute out the singing if it isn't done correct without any embellishments.

Old February 5th, 2021, 08:57 AM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

What a great message but I doubt whoever is singing the national anthem will ever see it. On the other hand I will not be watching the super bowl this year and have not watched any other NFL games this year. When they started taking the knee during the anthem this old veteran was done. I haven't missed it.
Old February 5th, 2021, 10:18 AM

I have felt that way for years. The National anthem is not something that anyone should be allowed to put on their own personal “touch”.

How can anyone forget Roseanne Barr “singing” the national anthem years ago? I didn’t like her before, never cared for her “humor”, I can’t change the channel or volume whenever she appears.

Im not a musically talented person. I’m definitely the black sheep of my family. My brother absolutely kicks *** on drums, my sister played oboe and flute, my wife plays the violin, my son is a drummer, my stepdaughters can play just about any instrument with little difficulty. I play my stereo, that’s the limit of the music ability. Having said that, I have heard many times the national anthem is a difficult song to sing. It seems like common sense to whoever is in charge of these decisions that selecting someone to sing it should consider that, along with the “image” that selection presents.