The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

Home appliance repairman logic?!!!

Search this Thread

Old September 6th, 2019 | 11:26 AM

Home appliance repairman logic?!!!

As a homeowner, and someone who hates to pay for someone to do what I can do, I have become pretty good with appliance and home maintenance. I am by no means an expert, but usually can get the job done.

Our Maytag washer agitator isn’t spinning. I do a little research, watch a few YouTube videos, and tear into it thinking the plastic drive bushing has stripped. I get it apart, the bushing splines are fine. I then notice the little tag that says “10 year drive train” warranty. I call Lowe’s (where I bought it) they inform me I purchased a extended warranty. I’m shocked, I never buy extended warranties, seems there is always a loophole to avoid covering whatever the issue is. Anyway, the repairman gets to the house, sees that I have removed the top plate, and says he won’t do anything else with it, I voided my warranty. He did show e what the actual issue is. Is this the way maintenance guys are today?? Keep in mind, I had all the screws and other hardware neatly organized, I had cleaned off 5 years of detergent crud, already had the machined pulled out of the utility room, seems to me I saved him lots of time and grunt work. I don’t know if they work hourly or flat rate, either way, seems like things could have worked in his favor. Or do people today not do anything but go to work and watch tv when they get home?
Old September 6th, 2019 | 12:33 PM
Administrator

Your repairman was an arrogant dick and should have just done the repair. He gets paid to fix it either way. I'd call Loews or whoever issued the warrantee and complain.
Old September 6th, 2019 | 12:40 PM

x2

If there wasn't a tag informing you that disassembly could void the warranty I'd say you were in the clear.