The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

Disc Brakes on a 57 Chev

Search this Thread

Old February 23rd, 2021, 03:46 PM
Always room for one more

Disc Brakes on a 57 Chev

Hi everyone.

I'm looking for some advice for converting the front brakes on my 57 Chevy to power disc. Is the Chevy any or a lot different than the 88?

What I'm looking for is a kit that has everything. I don't want to mess around getting brackets here, getting rotors there, watch out for these calipers, this is better, try this. That's what I got from the Chevy forum. Also want to know where I can get said kit. And if this all encompassing kit isn't available, where do I find a list of things. This has been done too many times for me to think it's something other than a simple thing. I've never done this before so I don't know where to start.

I can see that the kit for power brakes might be different than the kit for the brake conversion. That's fine. Also, is any of this going to interfere with the factory power steering, ie the pump on the back of the generator.

Thanks everyone.
Old February 23rd, 2021, 04:08 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran