The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

Commitment to purchase

Search this Thread

Old December 4th, 2021, 06:29 AM

Commitment to purchase

This a gripe at all of you buyers who agree to a purchase a part.
A couple of buyers lately have agreed ("ok, I'll take it") to buy stuff from me. Ok. So I box up the part, get the address from the buyer, go to the shipping facility to get a price, come back home, notify the buyer of the total cost & that's the last I hear from them.
So... if you're buying the part, BUY THE PART & don't back out because of the shipping cost. You have to realize nothing is cheap anymore. It's irritating to me & I'm sure others on here who have gone through the same trouble as this only to put the part back in storage.
Again, BUY THE PART!.
Thank you.
Old December 4th, 2021, 06:59 AM

I have been selling some old parts I've had sitting for 25 years for Triumphs on Ebay. I weigh them, estimate a box size and use their program for cost, which offers a 30% discount. That was where I discovered there are other websites that do the same. You can save that much by printing your own label. But I agree if you say your going to but it, Buy It!

Steve
Old December 4th, 2021, 07:19 AM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

I haven't gone that far but I have had numerous cases where somebody expresses interest and I go drag the parts out and take pictures. Then nothing. It is aggravating.
Old December 4th, 2021, 08:23 AM