The Clubhouse Place to chat about whatever's on your mind - doesn't have to be car related. NO POLITICS OR RELIGIOUS DISCUSSION ALLOWED.

Changes in paypal?

Search this Thread

Old October 9th, 2023, 04:56 PM

Changes in paypal?

I've been using paypal for many years now. I feel like it protects both the buyer and the seller. But I just got a strange message from them. They said if I got over $800 a month in payments they would hold my funds for 20 some odd days while they evaluated my selling. What? Has anybody had something like this happen to them? I've received over $700 into my paypal account for parts I've sold since the first of October. So they're warning me I'm nearing that $800 mark. They gave me the option to request a higher limit, although the next number was $5,000 in a month which I would never hit. I did put in the request but am wondering if there will be strings attached? Are they going to chage fees for the higher amount. I know I've seen members here say they've had problems with paypal and will no longer use it. What is everyone doing? I know Zelle is electronic, but I don't think it protects the buyer, just the seller. Are you guys going back to money orders? Not trying to start a rant on paypal thread, but wanting to hear different ways you guys are doing payments for things you buy or sell.

John

Last edited by 2blu442; October 9th, 2023 at 07:55 PM.
Old October 9th, 2023, 05:06 PM

I take Pay Pal only as friends now even if I don't know the people. I tell them I totally understand if they don't want the parts because of it. If it is a low priced part and they have a history here or a history on a Facebook group, I will ship first and them PP me friends after they get it. It is that or a check for me now and no other option. If someone PP's me regular I refund it till they do it right. I have only lost one or two sales over it but I am fine with that and completely understand why they didn't want to buy from me.