Control arm help

Search this Thread

Old February 2nd, 2015, 09:26 AM

Control arm help

So from the picture I am putting with this post, this is where I am sitting at. The old bushings and ball joints are out, the control arms are cleaned up, and they are ready to have the new parts put in.

I was told by a friend that to put the new bushings in, we would be greasing up the sleeves, is this something I want to do? or just press them in?

and what is the best way to add the rod for the upper control arm?

I am using a 20ton press to help get these in.

This is my first time doing this, so any tips, tricks and advice to put this back together would be helpful. heck if you know of a video that would make this even easier for me.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
20150201_135751.jpg (52.5 KB, 61 views)
Old February 2nd, 2015, 10:26 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by 1969cutlass4d
So from the picture I am putting with this post, this is where I am sitting at. The old bushings and ball joints are out, the control arms are cleaned up, and they are ready to have the new parts put in.

I was told by a friend that to put the new bushings in, we would be greasing up the sleeves, is this something I want to do? or just press them in?

This is my first time doing this, so any tips, tricks and advice to put this back together would be helpful. heck if you know of a video that would make this even easier for me.

Thanks
I do two things to make bushing installation easier. First, I make sure that there are no burrs on the ID of the holes in the control arms. Second, I apply a light coating of wheel bearing grease to the surfaces of the bushings that fit into the control arms. You don't need to smear the entire outside surface. In fact, look closely at the lower bushings, for example, and you'll see a small step near the end with the flange. You only need to grease this step and a short distance around the other end.