Brakes 101

Search this Thread

Old August 24th, 2011, 10:28 PM

Post Brakes 101

I worked as a technical consultant for Bendix training technicians for a few years and hopefully this thread will help with some basic and a few more advanced diagnostics and repair procedures for those who want to work on their brakes. This is mostly for disc/drum systems but drum/drum systems use the same information.
Let's start with the basics...
First and most importantly - USE THE HIGHEST QUALITY PARTS YOU CAN AFFORD!!! These are your brakes, the number one safety feature of your car. If the car doesn't run, you won't die. If your brakes don't work, you can get killed or injured! Don't skimp on the brakes!
Brake fluid - You must replace it every 12K mile or once a year. Brake fluid is similar to motor oil in that it is designed to encapsulate the moisture and sediment in brake systems but it only has so much capacity to do so. As it ages the boiling point drops, deposits collect, and problems start becoming more expensive to correct. Flush and bleed the brakes after every other oil change and you'll avoid 70% of common brake issues. I recommend DOT 4 fluid or Castrol LMA fluid (low moisture absorbtion) as it has a higher temperature rating and is less suceptible to breakdown in high-performance use.