69 400 lifter preload

Search this Thread

Old January 25th, 2010, 09:25 PM

69 400 lifter preload

I am putting together my first Olds rebuild and need some advice on the the valve train. I know this engine has non-adjustable rockers. I have looked on this forum and others, but could not find an exact match to my question. This is a stock 69 400 which has had the head and block surfaced. I am using Fel-Pro blue head gaskets. When I installed the lifters, rockers, and pushrods, the lifter preload measured .045. I measured this by tightening the pedestal bolts until the pushrod just contacted the lifter. The .045 was the clearance between the pedestal and the head.

I have seen measurements from .025 to .060 as being OK on different forums, but not for sure what the factory setting was.

Is .045 within the acceptable range?
If not, should I shim the pedestals or get different size pushrods? As a hobbyist I have rebuilt all of the engines for my projects, but I am no expert. This is my first Olds (69 442) and my first non-adjustable rockers.

Any help or recommendations would be appreciated. I know you can by the adjustable set-up, but I was wanting to go back as stock.

Ross (Waco, Tx)
Old January 26th, 2010, 03:03 AM

Normally what you do with non adjustable rockers is run the bolt down till it stops and tighten a bit more (torque) and you are done...what pre-load??
Old January 26th, 2010, 05:16 AM

Originally Posted by Yellowstatue
Normally what you do with non adjustable rockers is run the bolt down till it stops and tighten a bit more (torque) and you are done...what pre-load??
"what pre-load", Huh?

rsandhoff- you are correct. A figure of .030 to .060 is normally o.k. If you do have .045, then that should be fine. One more thing to check, when everything is tightened down make sure you still have a bit of travel left in the lifter. If you do then you're good to go.
Old January 26th, 2010, 02:03 PM