394 Tripower setup

Search this Thread

Old November 24th, 2009, 01:20 PM

394 Tripower setup

I have a 1964 oldsmobile 98 with the 330 HP 394 Sky Rocket, and it has an aftermarket edelbrock 4bbl. on it. I am looking to put "three deuces" on it, and I know offenhauser makes a tripower manifold for the 394. Before I start really planning or buying stuff for this, I just want to know what I'll be in for.
I'm new to this, so I want to know if I can just put the new intake and carbs (hopefully Stromberg 97's) on and tune them just right and be all set, or do I need a new cam and all kinds of other stuff? How much of a power increase would I be looking at with the three two-barreled set up? If anybody has any experience or advice or warnings here, please let me know.
Old November 24th, 2009, 02:05 PM

I guess it would be easy to get the carbs and manifold but the first thing I would be sure of is that the linkages can be gotten to hook everything up properly. You should be able to swap everything over without any engine mods because I think this setup too only operates off the center carb until the gas pedal is pushed way down.
Old November 24th, 2009, 04:37 PM

Thanks oldsmaniac! Now that I know it's within my capacities, I'll start finding out about linkage and slowly start piecing together the stuff I'm going to need.
They're making Stromberg 97's again but at $450.00 a pop I'm going to have to find used ones some place and fix them up. Apparently they are pretty simple carbs so hopefully this will be doable.
Old November 24th, 2009, 09:11 PM

Originally Posted by Dean O' Banion
If anybody has any experience or advice or warnings here, please let me know.