Sleeving a 455

Search this Thread

Old May 7th, 2023, 11:00 AM

Sleeving a 455

Hello all, I’m new to the Oldsmobile car community and looking for some help. I’m purchasing a 68 cutlass from my grandfather who has owned the car 25 years and never fooled with it. It had a 990 ish horsepower to the flywheel 455 before he bought it that was blown by previous owners. They used an entire tube of silicone to seal the oil filter and burnt the crank up. It’s already.060 over and cylinders were fine, but it’s sat, not being oiled or anything, for 25 years. The cylinders will more than likely need sleeves. Can these blocks have the entire thing sleeved or no? I’ve never personally dealt with sleeves in an engine so this is new to me and any advice is appreciated. Price isn’t really a huge factor to me, I have a machine shop that is very good close friends to my family that would be taking the block to him.

Old May 7th, 2023, 11:54 AM
same but different

Welcome to Classic Olds. You can sure sleeve an Oldsmobile engine just like any other. Many old and new engines have sleeves as part of their design like diesel and agriculture engines.

Your machinists should have the final word on this engine. At this point I'd be worried about a cracked block and other issues, as mentioned.

You could still source an Olds block, if this one turns out to be beyond repair. Check out the classified section here for an idea of whats being sold and bought and perhaps at what price.
Old May 7th, 2023, 01:37 PM

Originally Posted by don71
Welcome to Classic Olds. You can sure sleeve an Oldsmobile engine just like any other. Many old and new engines have sleeves as part of their design like diesel and agriculture engines.

Your machinists should have the final word on this engine. At this point I'd be worried about a cracked block and other issues, as mentioned.