Should I attempt to

Search this Thread

Old April 20th, 2008, 10:48 AM

Should I attempt to

build my 455? I have recently bought a 455 for my 72 cutlass and had intentions of having a machine shop do the whole job of rebuilding my motor(because I have never done it before) but as I tore down the motor I reliazed that it is not as complicated as I had thought. I did not grow up with a love for cars like most had, I grew up dealing with cars like my mother had...Take it to the shop. I have now gotten older and have found that I like to do the work myself on my car.

So I guess my real question is should I attempt to assmble the lower end of motor myself? or should I rely on the shop to do that?

thx
Old April 20th, 2008, 11:44 AM

You should let the shop assemble the short block. You won't be able to do the machine work yourself if you don't have any of the machines.
Old April 20th, 2008, 11:55 AM

Yeah your right there no machine shop in my garage I just thought it might be fun to learn to put the goodies in the block, but I see your point.

thanks again
Old April 20th, 2008, 12:46 PM

It would be good if you had a buddy with you that had done it before. But for the actual assembly once the machine shop does their work I believe you could assemble it yourself. My 2 cents. John
Old April 20th, 2008, 03:35 PM

Yes it is true that if the machine shop did things right the engine will go together easily but if you have never done it before there will be questions and uncertainty about things and re-assembly must follow procedure. To spend hard earned dollars on new parts and machine work you wouldnt want it all to go bad because of a mistake during assembly. If ya had an assistant who has done it before and preferrably with an Olds then go ahead.
Old April 20th, 2008, 05:40 PM