Rear Main Seal Leak... Info, Advise, Tips?

Search this Thread

Old January 17th, 2012, 09:44 PM
Mak

Rear Main Seal Leak... Info, Advise, Tips?

The rear main seal on my 425 is leaking (67 Delta 88). Not terrible yet, but definitely leaking. I usually only drive my car on weekends... I park over a drip pan and each week have a about a half dollar size spot. From what I understand it's a rope seal, yes?. Basically I'm starting to plan whether to take on the job myself or find a shop that I think can handle it. R&R'ing the trans is no problem for me... but I have no experience with a rope seal. So what's involved? Does the engine have to come out... or can it just be jacked up in the engine bay? How is a rope seal replaced? Is there a neoprene replacement seal available? Any other pitfalls to consider? Any advise will be appreciated.
Old January 18th, 2012, 04:13 AM

PITA...
At least from what I have seen amongst various engines...

Have you concluded it is dripping from there and not from a valve cover, pan or intake?
I am guessing you have but it is easy to forget how oil always seems to run down and drip from that spot.
I have a very slow drip from mine and traced it to there. When the engine needs to be rebuilt, it will get resealed.
Old January 18th, 2012, 04:23 AM
Connoisseur d'Junque

Yes, you can jack up the engine, pull the oil pan, pull the rear main bearing, and work the seal out and a new one in, then put it all back together (procedure is in the Chassis Service Manual), but is is really worth it for a 1" spot of oil a week?

On the other hand, you could pull the engine to do it, but then you might as well...

If it were me, I'd park over a drip pan and forget about it.

- Eric
Old January 18th, 2012, 09:27 AM
Mak

Originally Posted by Lady72nRob71
Have you concluded it is dripping from there and not from a valve cover, pan or intake?