Opinions for my 455 overhaul. MORE POWER!!

Search this Thread

Old August 6th, 2012, 01:24 PM
68 Delmont 88 Convertible

Opinions for my 455 overhaul. MORE POWER!!

Hello everyone,

I am planning on overhauling the 455 2bbl in my '68 Delmont. I am already booked to change the single exhaust to duals. I know that I need to change the carb and manifold. I am curious what you recommend for both. What about pistons, cam, rods, valves etc. What about engine oil pan? Gaskets sets? How about ignition etc? I don't want my Delmont to be annoying but I would like it to be quite a bit meaner.

Thanks for your help!
Old August 6th, 2012, 02:33 PM

What's your budget? How much power you want? Is it going to be a street car? Daily driver?
Old August 6th, 2012, 03:12 PM

I know it sounds weird but I don't really have a budget. I would like to keep in to a few thousand. I am a Service Manager at a dealership so labor is cheap for me. My Delmont is my Summer driver when it is not raining here (Calgary, Alberta, Canada). I will only be putting on a few thousand kilometers every year.

(edit) I would like to have enough power to keep those kids with the annoying cans on their civics in my rear view mirror.
Old August 6th, 2012, 04:40 PM

Originally Posted by Rutger34
I know it sounds weird but I don't really have a budget. I would like to keep in to a few thousand. I am a Service Manager at a dealership so labor is cheap for me. My Delmont is my Summer driver when it is not raining here (Calgary, Alberta, Canada). I will only be putting on a few thousand kilometers every year.

(edit) I would like to have enough power to keep those kids with the annoying cans on their civics in my rear view mirror.
Oh, you mean the "grapefruit launchers".
Old August 6th, 2012, 05:49 PM

Originally Posted by 442much
Oh, you mean the "grapefruit launchers".

You bet. Very annoying!!!
Old August 6th, 2012, 06:05 PM
Big Daddy No Bucks