Olds 455 Service Questions

Search this Thread

Old October 4th, 2012, 06:11 AM

Olds 455 Service Questions

Hey guys,

I'm just getting started on doing a full detail on my Ninety Eight's motor. In the process, I'm replacing the water pump and timing set and I had a few questions for you guys:

1) The harmonic balancer is original. How do I know if it's still ok to use or should I just replace it while I'm already in there?

2) If the balancer should be replaced, any suggestions on where to get one? I was thinking Rock Auto for everything but haven't used them yet so I'm not sure.

3) I'm going to repaint the motor and I want to get an aerosol paint that is actually close to the original blue (1976 455 by the way). Any suggestions on a source? Eastwood maybe?

4) The coolant is pretty murky and I'd really like to get it all flushed out. Without running the car, what is the best way to flush the cooling system? Are the block drain plugs a safe way to drain the block? I'll be pulling the radiator out and I can flush that on its own so my main concern is the block. I'll change the heater core too while I'm at it.

5) Anything else you guys think I should replace while doing the water pump, timing set and doing this full detailing?

As always, any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks guys!

John
Old October 4th, 2012, 06:36 AM
Lance

Current thread on Olds blue engine paint.

https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...ine-paint.html
Old October 4th, 2012, 09:58 AM

I always use distilled water. I dump the radiator, then refill with distilled water and run it until it's warm. I do this four or five times, until it drains clear, and then start filling with straight antifreeze. Depending on how big the system is versus how much you can drain out from the radiator, you may need to drain a little of the mix and add more antifreeze to get the proper ratio.
Old October 4th, 2012, 03:27 PM
Administrator