Need honest opinions and suggestions for my build.

Search this Thread

Old March 2nd, 2012, 09:15 AM

Question Need honest opinions and suggestions for my build.

Hello all!
It's my first build so any advice, or suggestions I would love to hear.
My goal is not to rev above 5500 but would like as much torque and HP as possible from idle to 5500 rpm. Want the car to sound like a beast also. I won't be racing the car but if I run it hard down the quarter mile just a few times and do long burnouts whenever I show off I don't want nothing breaking for a long time. Let me know what you think or any suggestions please.

Block cleaned, bored .030 over, cleaned decks .020 piston to deck.
Crank grinded .020 rods .020 mains. polished but not heat treated or nitrided. ( was thinking about getting a eagle crank Eagle 104554260-AR100 Cast Steel Crankshaft with ESP
Stock rods with ARP bolts.
Clevite P series bearings and Clevite cam bearings.
KB pistons IC886ktd-030 with rings. Summit raised the price to 731.55 nexty day after I purchased mine $515 the day before.
Compression should be in the 10.5 neighboorhood with e-brock .038 gasket.
Edelbrock heads. Bolt on out the box purchased bolts not studs.
Harland Sharp roller rockers. BTR racing. Ones from Bill's book.
Still haven't bought pushrods.
Edelbrock RPM airgap port matched.
Stock main caps. should I get bolts or studs?
Oil hole opened up near timing chain to drain better. Also cleaned up the long opening in the lifter valley above the cam.
No cam or lifters yet.
No carb yet saving the easy part for last.
No distributor yet but I have a stock 72 olds HEI in the garage.
Hooker headers. Still haven't ordered.
Stock oil pan.
Not sure if i need standard or high volume oil pump.
Planning to run 91 octane.