My First Project & Rebuild 455 rocket

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2012, 11:11 PM
See ya at the FINISH LINE

My First Project & Rebuild 455 rocket

Hello as you can read this is my first rebuild@ Im new to internal engine specs etc...Ive been in school for my ASE for a few moths now, and come fall im wanting to do rebuild on my 455! This build Im wanting is or would be a street/strip build but not alot of money to invest! Im hoping for some worth while tips which im sure I will find here! I currently acuired 69 Oldsmobile Cutlass S holiday coupe 2 door! This is what I have found under the hood so far w the help of fellow olds guys on here in my first thread ever! I have 396021 F casting numbers above the water pump need to look and see if there is a small a after the F! My mondello tech guide say s on of two options years 68-76 stud Boss?? and or 68-76____ and or for the Fa if i have which i meed to look it says 72-76 no clutch ball??Im curious if this is original motor? Even if not still needing ? on that street/strip build! also I have set of 403 heads on car idk y but they are i did not do this! Heads are 4A with numbers 554 717 mondello say\s years 77-80 nd or 88-90.. This is what I know I have so far! Like said I havnt done anythiing to the car except install some guages! Reason for my rebuild is recently had num 1 cyl exhaust valve pushrod not cooperating! it starts to pump then stops! Did the old tranny fluid trick for cleaner and chattering stopped but sounds as if the lifter itself is worn and about fall out bottom end! Idk if can just replace one lifter for now or??? Thank you for your time and any replies,
Chris... PS. might i add this is my first project car and im wanting to do this right! reason for taking on this project is for a huge muscle car enthusiast friend of mine whom recnetly passed in Dec last year!! SO this is a tribute to the "KING OF THE STREETS" RIP DEREK ALLEN GILL
Attached Images
File Type: jpg