HELP! Book to rebuild my engine?

Search this Thread

Old January 12th, 2009, 08:14 PM

Exclamation HELP! Book to rebuild my engine?

Hey guys, long time no post. I have been floundering in my rebuild because I have been relying on people to help me with what I have no technical knowledge in. Apparently I haven't met the good shadetree mechanics that are reliable when they say they'll be over to help on the weekend. SO, the question I ask to you guys is, I am rebuilding a 68 Olds 455. Its all in one piece right now. I want a book that will kinda help guide me thru the disassembly process and reassembly once the parts get back from the shop. What are some good books for me to buy?
Old January 13th, 2009, 04:34 AM
Past Administrator

This is not the be-all to end-all but it can give you some good basic technical knowledge to get you on your way. Before you do anything though I would recommend that you find a good machinist you can trust that has some been recommended by local enthusiasts. Ask around at local car shows this spring, car club members, maybe go to the race track and inquire there. Then go and talk to this person and ask about ideas and prices and what he would require YOU to do so HE can rebuild your engine well.
Old January 13th, 2009, 06:39 AM

Oldsguy is right. And get yourself a shop manual if you dont have one now...Always good to have.
Everyone has their own idea how to build these engines. Depends what you want.
Find a reputable machine shop for sure. Lots of shady ones around promising quality for cheap. Be prepared to spend a few thousand
Old January 13th, 2009, 07:30 AM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

Be sure the machinist knows Oldsmobile engines. They are not SB or BB Chevies. They are very different and require a machinist that understands that.
Old January 13th, 2009, 09:09 AM