72 Cutlass Big Block 396

Search this Thread

Old July 31st, 2012, 07:39 PM

72 Cutlass Big Block 396

I'm a total newb here and came across a 72 Cutlass for sale with a big block 396 in it.

Has anyone heard of a big block 396 in a 72 Cutlass before?
What can I expect from the car overall with this engine as oppose to the 350?
Old July 31st, 2012, 07:53 PM
Connoisseur d'Junque

396 is a Chebby engine.

With enough work, you could put any engine into an Olds, even John Deere tractor engine.

What to expect from the car will depend on its condition, how it's been treated, and how good a job they did on the engine swap.

Welcome to Classic Olds.

- Eric
Old July 31st, 2012, 07:58 PM

Pictures of the engine will determine if it's really a BBC in it.
Old July 31st, 2012, 08:49 PM
Just an Olds Guy

Originally Posted by dmano
It's been done before. In this case, prolly by someone who had a 396 and wanted a street/track car, or someone who likes messing with Olds purists. IIRC that requires a revamp of the electrical wiring under the hood. If they put a 396 in the car, you better hope they also put in a TH400.

Originally Posted by dmano
More power and possibly more headaches with any wiring issues. Who's kidding who? The 396 is a great engine. Just that you'll find a lot of guys on this site do NOT like seeing anything but an Olds power plant in an Olds. If you like the car, buy it. If you don't like the 396 and want to change it to a 455? You can do that too. My opinion is I don't think you'll see much difference in performance between the two. The motor mounts would have to be different for a chevy engine - stock Olds ones won't fit. That means someone either had to fabricate a mod on the mounts for that car or they may be welded to the engine cradle. Can you post a link to show the car?
Old August 1st, 2012, 07:06 AM
Oldsdruid

Originally Posted by Allan R
The 396 is a great engine.