67 442 runs like $&#!

Search this Thread

Old January 30th, 2014, 05:34 AM

67 442 runs like $&#!

Hello All!
First let me provide the details. 400 E block, variable pitch TH400 and standard 3.08 open carrier rearend. The engine was professionally rebuilt using egge components. Comp Cams with .474 lift, 232/241 @.50 duration. Edelbrock Performer intake, HEI distributor and Holley 670 Street Avenger. Stock exhaust manifolds, full length 2.5" exhaust with H pipe, flowmaster mufflers.
Based on my research on this site, I'm pretty sure I'm going to have to recurve the timing using an adjustable vacuum advance kit like a Crane kit. I'm also thinking I don't have enough carb and I haven't heard anything good about the Street Avenger carbs.
I've been tinkering with cars my whole life, but I have no experience with a non-stock configuration like this. Any advice or opinions are greatly appreciated!
Thanks, Mike C.
Old January 30th, 2014, 05:49 AM
Administrator

Mike, %^%9 is not a very good description. Can you explain in details that we can troubleshoot? Also include things you tried. Also which Egge pistons did they use?

The Street Avenger carb's are fine.
Old January 30th, 2014, 06:21 AM

The stock pistons EGGE sells for the E block are flat top pistons like factory. I used them in my stock 400 build. No complaints and engine runs well and strong with point ignition, quadrajet carb and stock intake and exhaust. I used the repro 67 W30 cam and my car has the 390 gear and is a stick. I am very pleased with the way it runs. Yes give more details why you think it runs like crap.

Last edited by Oldsmaniac; January 30th, 2014 at 06:22 AM. Reason: spelling
Old January 30th, 2014, 06:31 AM

67 442 runs like $&#!