425cui and 425 horses

Search this Thread

Old October 25th, 2015, 07:42 AM

425cui and 425 horses

Hey guys,
I have a stock 425 in my 65 Delta 88 that has a spun rod bearing, so while I am taking the engine apart anyways, I wanna do some upgrades so I have more Power. I am pretty sure that I have the high compression version with the 4 barrel Rochester carb with I think 360hp stock. Now I am not sure if this todays horsepower or the old measurement still but it should be the the most powerful engine availible in the Delta, excluding the one from the Starfire. My goal is to get 425hp (onpe per cubic inch) and run the stock transmissiom and rear end (I have the posi). My budget is about 3000$ because I am still a student. Now to my questions:

Is the budget realistic for this kind of build?
How many hp can the TH400 handle without modifications?
What do you guys suggest I should do to reach my goal (Parts suggestions for intake, camshaft, ...)?
I also have a 750cfm Edelbrock Quadrajet that I would like to keep if possible.
Do I need new Pistons and rods? The engine has 149000 miles in it.
What should I have the machine shop do to the engine?
Do you guys know if it is possible at all to put headers on the engine in the Delta? As far as I know there are no headers that fit the Delta with power steering, so are there any you could modify or is there a kit to build your own? How many hp could you gain with headers compared to the stock manifolds? A friend of mine also suggested to have the machine shop weld the gap between the 2. and 3. exaust outlet in the manifold. Do you think that will help a few horses?

I have also never rebuilt an engine before, but my uncle is a mechanic. He just doesent know much about american engines regarding power upgrades because we live in Germany. My goal is to run the car on 98 octane pump gas and mainly drive the car on the street and take it to the dragstrip about 3 times a year.