1969 442 400ci Carb help

Search this Thread

Old February 6th, 2021, 10:06 AM

1969 442 400ci Carb help

Hi this is my first post here. I have a 1969 442 that my father bought and we cleaned the car up pretty well when I was in Highschool. The experience is what took a small passion for cars and turned it into a lifetime hobby. A "professional" shop did the work but I got to be a large part of the process. Fast forward 15 years and he has put maybe 1,500 miles on it and I have put the other 3k-5k on it. He has had a few pretty crappy mechanics try to maintain it to not much success.

So I am going through the car and trying to get it running properly and back to him before he loses his license due to age and I am having some trouble. I am an armature garage mechanic in training but I am just clueless with carburetors. The car was put back together with an "RV" cam I think it was called. It has an Edelbrock intake and a Berry Grant Demon 650 carb.

I was told by a local tuner that those carbs were made with crap Chinese parts and its not worth rebuilding. I need to do something because it is spraying gas on top of the intake. The car has never run properly. My dad had it dyno tuned while I was active duty a decade ago but it still never ran right. One of the other issues had been the gas pedal sticking. He had a few "mechanics" look at it but no one realized the throttle cable was a 1/2 inch too long and binding up... also means the carb has never seen WOT..... Not sure how the car was ever tuned as the gas pedal could not put the carb into WOT. Am I missing something? I just got the car in my garage a couple months ago and started getting to work a few weeks ago. Goal is to be on the road by summer.

So any advice please! Ditch the carb and get a new one? Which brand and model? Holly owns Demon now and will take 12 weeks or more to rebuild and $250. I have hit all of my local contacts and do not have anyone I trust to rebuild my current carb.