New to this site

Search this Thread

Old October 18th, 2007, 07:44 AM

New to this site

Hi all you Olds fans. I have found this site through searching for information that is not necessarily racing Olds stuff.

I have a red with black stripes and interior 72 442 W-30 sports coupe(sedan) that I have been working on since 1995. The car is pretty well done now but I still like to talk about them and find others that have the post coupes.

I look forward to some meaningful conversations on this site.

My car is basically cleaned up from a severe crash back in the 80s. I am not a fanatic about the restoration. It is a very clean driver in my opinoin. This is a non numbers matching car with 200 4R pulling it down the road. I kept the odd ball stuff like the bench seat and idiot lights just because it was different. Got any questions I love talking about this old car.
Old October 19th, 2007, 08:24 PM

Welcome to the site! What do you think about the 200 4R trannie? Did you have any problems installing it in the car? Do you have a small block or big block in your car? I picked up a 200 4R a while back with the intention of putting it in a daily driver to help with gas milage and still be able to have low gears in the rear end. I've not got around to messing with it yet, but have wondered just what it will take to make the swap. John
Old October 21st, 2007, 06:03 PM

Hey John,
I have a 455 and 3.42 rear gear, but I don't drive it very hard. I had a lot of trouble at first because I tried to use a supposed "rebuilt" trans which just turned out to be used. I basically had a lot of trouble since the trans was not assembled right or something. I had a shop finally rebuild it with Raybestos Blue plate clutches and a kevlar band and I'm fairly happy with it. I only have about 300 miles since I put this rebuilt unit in the car. I am still having a small problem with the TCC that I wish I would have replaced during the rebuild.