Total noobie wants more power,

Search this Thread

Old March 9th, 2008, 10:36 AM
Oldsmobile Virgin

Total noobie wants more power,

Hi

I have just gotten a 1977 Cutlass with a stock 350. the car is in really good shape and i want to keep it looking stock.

The problem is it has very little power. As far as i can tell it is bone stock with 76,000 miles.

1. I purchased a dual exhaust system from Summit, but have not installed it.
Should i make it true duals or just Y it off the stock exhaust system where it dumps into the converter. I'm planning on removing the converter

2.I'm guessing the motor could use some more compression, what's the limit with the stock cam? Is there a better flowing head available for a reasonable price? I'm thinking of removing the heads and milling them for more compression and cleaning up the ports. How much can be taken off the heads?

I didn't want to get into the shortblock, or the cam unless big gains were to be had.

I'm not looking for a tire burner, just something that will keep up with traffic.

Thanks in advance.
Old March 9th, 2008, 11:43 AM

Do a tune up on it with fresh parts (plugs, wires cap etc.) and make sure that the q-jet is going to full throttle on the secondary side. Many I have seen will not. Maybe even a rebuild on the q-jet could be in order. Check timing for 36 degrees at 3000 rpm. Make sure vacuum advance is working from timed spark port.
THEN the dual exhaust, AND a set of 3.23, or 3.42 gears in back will make a world of difference. You can probably find the gears in the wrecking yard from a Chevy truck CHEAP.
Jim
Old March 9th, 2008, 11:50 AM

P.S. Make sure the catalitic converter is not plugged up, also.
Old March 9th, 2008, 01:00 PM

Originally Posted by VWBeamer
........ Should i make it true duals or just Y it ........
True duals = Dual exhaust, as opposed to fake duals. The second exhaust usually adds a noticeable power gain.