Oil Light

Search this Thread

Old June 6th, 2020, 04:43 PM

Oil Light

Oil light came on today while driving so I came home and checked the oil. She’s full. Any reason why the oil light would come on?
Thanks.
Old June 6th, 2020, 05:02 PM

The oil light comes on because of a loss of oil pressure, not a lowering of the oil level. You measure that with the dipstick.

I'm no expert here, but if this were my car, the first thing I'd do is replace the oil pressure sensor and hope that fixes it. They're a few bucks at the auto parts store, and they can go bad. But if the light still goes on even with the new sensor, then I would get an actual oil pressure gauge and hook that up. You want to know what the oil pressure actually is. If your engine is experiencing a loss of oil pressure, there are several possible causes. How many miles on the engine?
Old June 6th, 2020, 05:10 PM

Replace the sending unit as suggested if there are no strange noises, the oil is close to full. Smell the oil for gasoline.

If strange noises don't run it.

What year, model, engine, mileage?

Good luck!!!
Old June 6th, 2020, 05:12 PM

Originally Posted by jaunty75
The oil light comes on because of a loss of oil pressure, not a lowering of the oil level. You measure that with the dipstick.

I'm no expert here, but if this were my car, the first thing I'd do is replace the oil pressure sensor and hope that fixes it. They're a few bucks at the auto parts store, and they can go bad. But if the light still goes on even with the new sensor, then I would get an actual oil pressure gauge and hook that up. You want to know what the oil pressure actually is. If your engine is experiencing a loss of oil pressure, there are several possible causes. How many miles on the engine?
Thanks. I will do that. The car currently has a 307 in it. The original engine is waiting for me to pick it up but with everything that’s happening things are on hold.