The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

Complete Newbie to all

Search this Thread

Old July 15th, 2023, 08:20 AM

Smile Complete Newbie to all

A buddy of mine has a 1971 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Convertible. He told me that if I sell it, I could get half the money. The only thing is that I don't want to sell it.... The car needs some T.L.C. that I want to give to it. Even if I do end up selling it, the T.L.C. will make it worth more. He said that he got too old and lazy to finish it.
The car was sitting at a shop for about 10-15 years. It runs, but it needs A LOT of parts put on (or back on). There are 3 main things that I want to start with....

1.THE BRAKES. He has brand new rotors and discs at his house. He said that I would have to replace the dry-rotted lines on it.
2. Convertible Top.... The frame is sitting inside of the car now. He said that he has a new-ish vinyl top to put on it. (He says "New-ish because it is brand new but sitting inside his house for 10-15yrs).
3. Interior... The interior has also been sitting inside his house the whole time too. I don't know what condition it is in, but I do know that he takes good care of his stuff.
Old July 15th, 2023, 09:33 AM

Welcome. Hopefully you can buy your friend's half of the car and start work on it. Who's name is on the title?
Old July 15th, 2023, 09:36 AM
Administrator

Welcome, seems to me that you and your friend need to come to an agreement on price for you to buy it.
Old July 15th, 2023, 10:04 AM

His, but said that he would put it in my name. Along with the 16' tandem axle flatbed trailer and 79 vet that he gifted me.
Old July 15th, 2023, 09:00 PM

I just found out that this car still has its original engine.
Old July 15th, 2023, 09:58 PM

better check to see if he owes any money to the shop first. if you buy it from him, you may be assuming that debt, which could be sizeable
Old July 16th, 2023, 04:43 AM