Convertible top 1967 CS 442

Search this Thread

Old December 24th, 2023, 11:19 AM

Convertible top 1967 CS 442

The forum just helped me get my top to go up and down by telling me about the circuit breaker issue. I listened and the top now works. BUT. in so doing and being that the top had not been used in several months and cold and stiff and when I was through testing the top for operating properly i now see that the zip in plastic back glass has come unzipped about halfway from the closed end of the zipper. So before I go any further has anyone been there done that repair and if so what is the trick? See pics. Thanks as always, Mike

Old December 24th, 2023, 11:53 AM

I have no experience with the zipped in rear window on a Cutlass. My Jeep Wrangler has them on its soft top, though. You may be able to pry the “Y” part of the zipper open slightly so it can be moved to the opposite side of the open area, then pinch it back to original using pliers. I have successfully done this on luggage zippers.
Old December 25th, 2023, 03:59 AM

sounds like a plan. I will try and update later after Christmas, Thanks
Old December 26th, 2023, 12:57 PM