Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

sanders and guns anyone?

Search this Thread

Old April 14th, 2011, 08:15 PM

sanders and guns anyone?

hey everybody. this is my first time doing any big body work so some advice is needed. On this car there are some rust pits so i plan on 1) wire wheeling 2) por 15 the pits 3) epoxy primer 4) filler 5) epoxy primer 6) some flat black paint or something to seal it up just to cruise.
Anywho im going to need a sander to strip the car, and a gun for my primers and paint.
So my question is what is a good yet fairly inexpensive 6 " air sander,
as well as a decent yet not pricy gun ?
Thanks all!
P.S. if you find my process of body work flawed in any way input is greatly appreciated
thanks Dan
Old April 14th, 2011, 10:09 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran

Do you already have your compressor because a sander if going to need a large volume of air.
Old April 14th, 2011, 10:26 PM

Rust removal

After you get to clean metal and before using POR15 paint on some phosphoric acid. I think POR sells it as Metal Etch or Metal Cleaner or you can get it at auto paint stores. Follow the directions carefully. It will get to rust you can't even see and fix it. Then put on your POR15. POR sells a trunk and floor pan kit for about $159. That has everything you need including some very good gloves that don't rip or melt from chemicals.

Disclaimer: I have no fiscal or other interest in POR15 company and think other similar products probably do as good.
Jerry
Old April 14th, 2011, 11:23 PM

yea i have a good compressor the volume of air is not an issue. thanks for the tip on the additional prep. dont you need to rinse off the phosphoric acid after it is applied? thanks
Old April 15th, 2011, 12:38 PM

phosphoric acid metal treatment