qjet auto trans vs manual

Search this Thread

Old May 31st, 2008, 04:53 PM

qjet auto trans vs manual

being an almost absolute newbie may I ask what may appear to you guys a simple question /answer isuue?
I wish to fit a carb from a manual vehicle to an auto trans vehicle .Where are the pitfalls ?? what is the big deal here ?? The vehicle to be fitted has a 425 toro with th400 trans ,the donor vehicle a 70 chebby manual trans
CHEERS MIKE
Old May 31st, 2008, 06:55 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by geckonz08
being an almost absolute newbie may I ask what may appear to you guys a simple question /answer isuue?
I wish to fit a carb from a manual vehicle to an auto trans vehicle .Where are the pitfalls ?? what is the big deal here ?? The vehicle to be fitted has a 425 toro with th400 trans ,the donor vehicle a 70 chebby manual trans
CHEERS MIKE
All Q-jets use the same manifold bolt pattern. The three major differences between the Chevy style and Olds style Qjets are the inlet, the throttle arm, and the choke. All Olds Qjets use a straight-in inlet. The Chevy carbs have the inlet facing the passenger side of the carb. You'll need to fabricate a new inlet pipe to match. The throttle arm may or may not hit the Olds manifold. If it does, you can use a spacer to jack the carb up to clear. If the engine is still installed in an early Toro, a spacer may give you a hood clearance problem. Depending on your Olds, the Chevy throttle arm may or may not have the correct connection points for the throttle linkage. The stock manifold for a 425 used a divorced choke (thermostat coil in the manifold with a linkage to the carb). I don't know what this carb comes with, but it probably doesn't match up.

Finally, the carb jetting is almost certainly not correct for your engine and car combo. You'll need to dial that in yourself by changing the metering rods and possibly the primary jets as required.

This does beg the question, why not just rebuild the original carb from the 425?