Noob here. Need help with a fuel issue.

Search this Thread

Old March 15th, 2015, 06:04 PM

Noob here. Need help with a fuel issue.

Hello everyone,

I have a 1972 Olds 442 W30. It has been having a recurring issue. When the car is cold it will fire right up. However, once I park it for a few minutes the story changes. If I try to start the car back up again it will either fight me or it won't start at all. I have heard that the location oft he exhaust crossover will cause fuel evaporation due to the heat generated in relation to the fuel lines. However, I am not sure there is any truth in this. Either way, it is very frustrating. Does anyone have any idea what could be the issue? Sorry in advance if this is a stupid question.
Old March 15th, 2015, 06:24 PM

Not a stupid question to make your car work right.
Can we agree that it did not work like that when made?
Then, what is different?

I take it from the way you stated the issue that you know the difference between the starting system and the other items required such as fuel and ignition. Therefore, it sounds like you are saying the engine is turning over well but will not start.

is that correct?
Old March 15th, 2015, 06:46 PM

You're correct. I have a basic understanding of systems. What I can tell you is that the car will start. Once the car gets warmed up and is driven for any extended period of time, we'll say a half hour, it either does not want to start, or will not start.

The car is getting spark. I popped the hood and sprayed some starting fluid and it fired up. I hopped out to close the hood. Car died. Then would not start again.

But again, the car has no problem starting up when it is cold.
Old March 15th, 2015, 07:50 PM
Administrator

Does it crank fine but won't start or does it not crank? Have you tried keeping the gas pedal floored while you crank? Is the carb dribbling fuel into the manifold when the engine is hot and off? Is the choke open all the way?
Old March 15th, 2015, 07:57 PM