Vintage Oldsmobiles Curved Dash, Limited Touring, Models 40, 53, 66; Series 60, 70, 90

1958 Fiesta Station Wagon - help needed with vacuum system - wipers and heating

Search this Thread

Old April 18th, 2016, 02:37 PM

1958 Fiesta Station Wagon - help needed with vacuum system - wipers and heating

I'm almost there and reaady to put the car back on the road, at least that's what I thought before we noticed that the wipers and the heating system don't work.
I'm no expert at all and might be asking funny questions....

about the heating system:

I was trying to test these vacuum pots with a hand held vacuum tester. The trouble was that I didn't know what I was looking for.
1. How much pressure should I apply ?
2.How long should those "pots" be able to maintain it ? One showed no reaction at all, so I guess that one is broken. The other four droped down to 120mbar which I think are 1.74 Psi. Are they all okay ?
3. As far as I know they make new ones for the 59 and upward. Could I use those for my 58 ? -greetings from Switzerland - Christina

Old April 23rd, 2016, 10:07 AM

Thanks to posts in other threads, some questions have been answered.
The dashpods are apparently 4" pods. 4 of the five are working.
Question remaining: could I use a 4" pod for 59 models ?

We took the heater housing inside the car apart. Everythings is cleaned and greased and should work now.

I think the problem is elsewhere. Please bear in mind that I don't know much about vacuum systems ....

There is a vacuum manifold underneath the carburator, correct ? Mine has three ports on one side and one of the ports is closed by a screw.

There should be a connection between the port and the vacuum pump above the fuel pump, correct ? Since the engine is supposed to produce the vacuum for the heater valves and wiper motor, correct ?

The vacuum pump above the fuel pump only supports that vacuum , correct ?