Please help me choose the right torque convertor!

Search this Thread

Old March 25th, 2013, 02:31 PM

Please help me choose the right torque convertor!

Last year, I swapped out the jet-a-way in my 1966 cutlass, and installed a TH400 out of a 1979 Buick Electra instead...
I didn't really care about the torque converter and just installed the one, the transmission came with.
Now I just wondered, which convertor you would choose for my application!
Engine is the original 330, 2.78 rear gears...I know it's not a race car, but I feel something keeps it from being faster, could that be caused by a wrong convertor?
Any help will be greatly appreciated, hope to learn something about this topic!
Thanks for looking
Old March 31st, 2013, 05:58 PM

I'm no tranny expert but I'd say the torque conv is probably fine for your setup. If you feel a lack of power it's probably due to the 47 year old engine that's likely putting out well under 200 hp
Old March 31st, 2013, 06:42 PM

Two summers ago I swapped out my Jet-a-Way for a TH400 Switch Pitch and a 12 bolt with 4.10 gears. I know it's not an apples to apples comparison but it did make a huge difference. I have the same engine you have in yours currently and also had the 2.78's before the swap.
That being said I don't recommend the 4.10's, lol. I'd prefer something in the mid 3.00's range. 3.42's? That would really wake up the 330.
Since you have a standard TH400 I would go with something with a little higher stall. I think those stock converters are in the 1500-1800 range. I would go with something in the 2200-2500 range. You'll hardly notice the difference accept when you step on it. Right off the bat you're going to notice a difference between the two transmissions because of the first gear ratios. ST-300, Jet-a-Way, have a 1.77 first gear ratio and TH400 have a 2.48 first gear ratio. The ST-300 is almost like starting off in second gear with the TH400 as far as gear ratio goes.
Hope this helps.
Old March 31st, 2013, 06:50 PM