Tech Editor's Desk Projects, papers, writings, thoughts, musings of our technical editor Joe Padavano. To begin with, he will be making threads and can approve posts to it if he wishes. This can be changed in the future if it does not work out well.

Timing help

Search this Thread

Old April 27th, 2019, 06:32 PM

Timing help

I have a 1974 cutlass with a 350 rocket engine. It was running and the the engine got painted. Now it's out of time. I've never done that before. Can get some assistance please.
Old April 27th, 2019, 06:48 PM

Did you pull the distributor? Did you pull the plug wires?

This might help.

Old April 27th, 2019, 06:52 PM

Yes I did. I bought everything new. I put it at zero on the timing mark and its misfiring and flames coming out the headers.
Old April 27th, 2019, 07:08 PM
Administrator

First you need to get #1 at tdc. Wire the firing order as per the picture above. Remember the distributor turns CCW. Then set your timing once the engine starts.
Old April 27th, 2019, 07:11 PM

Ok thank you.
Old April 27th, 2019, 07:15 PM
CH3NO2 LEARN IT BURN IT

Once you have verified the firing order is correct....With #1 spark plug removed, stick your finger in #1 spark plug hole while someone (or you using a remote start switch) bumps the engine over until it spits your finger out. Now #1 piston is at or about TDC.

Now, look at where the mark is on the crank damper. Should be somewhere where you can see it. Now move the engine(damper, by hand) to line up the mark on the damper with 0* on the timing tab. You are now at top dead center...TDC.

With the distributor cap off the rotor should be pointing towards #1 cylinder and the #1 tower on the cap. If it doesn't its off a tooth or two.

Put it all back together and fire it up. With a timing light, move the distributor (with the engine running) until the mark on the damper lines up with 10 or 12* BTDC on the tab(with the vacuum advance plugged off, no vac leak).