403 w/ 350 heads - Large or Small valves ?

Search this Thread

Old September 30th, 2018, 10:50 AM

403 w/ 350 heads - Large or Small valves ?

I have a 403 for build-up. #7 heads.
I value expert opinions. It is fair to say I am a noob, but an educated one

My chief question is, for my desired application, should I modify to larger valves or keep the stock smaller size ??

I have seen on 3 sites, opinion that with smaller valves one can have just as much lower end power (hp/trq) and may fit the application. The explanation I interpreted was the larger valves, porting for more flow, & maximizing compression to the nth degree were for higher RPM motor applications.
Is there any sense to this?

I have a street cruiser (TA) and just want some bottom end acceleration for fun, balanced with a decent highway ride.
Being a 403, I am fine with peaking lower, prefer actually. (5000 rpm ? open for suggestion).

Will be going to a 3.08 or 3.23 gear (stock at 2.73)

example on build thoughts at minimum:
What are very rough anticipated incremental power gains for each individually in this combo?
1a. stock 403 w/ stock #7 heads
[power gain]?
vs.

1b. stock 403 w/ modified #7 - larger valves, complete port job [power gain], estimated cost? ?

With Stock 403 & stock #7:
2. Cam. (moderate? want to learn sizing later) [ further power gain]?
3. Dual Exhaust [further power gain]?
4. Long Tube Headers (cheap non tuned 1-5/8" port 3" collector) [further power gain]?

Last edited by Via3d; September 30th, 2018 at 11:02 AM.
Old September 30th, 2018, 11:01 AM

Intake?
Old September 30th, 2018, 03:38 PM

Probably a stock intake or the street dominator as those are the only ones that will fit under the hood. Even with street dominator you have to cut the intake. RPM has no chance fitting.