Timing: Can these numbers be right?!

Search this Thread

Old July 23rd, 2016, 11:58 AM

Exclamation Timing: Can these numbers be right?!

Hey guys,
I finally got my dial-back timing light from HF so I checked my numbers.

Back when I refreshed this motor (with the TH350 and 2.56 gears) I was running about 14* initial, limited the HEI to....uhhhh....was it 12*?, and had about 36* all in.
After getting the 200-4r in and the 3.73 gears, I started playing with timing, without a light. I just kept bumping it up until it started poorly and backed it off. I put the lightest springs in the HEI from the MSD kit on the "stock" weights (that came with the new HEI (eBay).
The car is running great and smoking the tires with not a hint of ping (I run premium fuel mostly from Mobile).

However, here are the numbers I'm reading with the dial-back light. Maybe I'm not using it correctly. I'm just turning the dial until the hash mark on the balancer lines up with zero on the stock gauge.

Idle: 700 RPM: vac can disconnected and line plugged = 28*
Idle: 700 RPM: vac can hooked up = 42*
Vac can hooked up: all in (3500 ish RPM) = 60*

These numbers can't be right, can they? As I said, she's running smooth and strong without any pinging.
Old July 23rd, 2016, 11:59 AM

I forgot to mention: the timing is jumping a little at idle, like 2*. Caused by the light springs I expect.
Old July 23rd, 2016, 12:06 PM

Right now don't worry about how much the vacuum advance adds. Some vacuum cans have as much as 24º advance, so added to 36º total (initial + mechanical)= 60º (initial + mechanical + vacuum).

Do the checks with the vacuum can disconnected. Check initial (you already have that) and the total MECHANICAL advance at ~3600 RPM.

After you know these, you can check to see how much vacuum advance your canister adds. You can make a limiter for it if needed - mine had 24º so I made two different limiters (one is 10º advance and another is 16º advance).