Rocker Arms not straight

Search this Thread

Old February 5th, 2016, 11:31 AM
Rodney

Rocker Arms not straight

I'm still building my SBO stroker engine with ProComp heads and I'm having pushrod and rocker arm geometry problems. I have assembled the rocker arms and pushrods, but the rockers seem to be cockeyed. Some look true i.e parallel to the valves cover rail, but most seem to lean to one side or the other. Is this normal for roller rockers? The roller tips of the rockers seem to be centered on valve stems, but the pushrods are not all parallel to each other. Some are slightly angled and not centered in the push rod holes in the heads either. Is this a casting issue with ProComp heads? Could the valve locations be inconsistent within the the chambers causing these alignment issues? This is my first build using aluminum heads and roller rockers; I think all the pushrods where parallel to each other when I rebuilt iron headed Olds engines in the past.

Here are some pics:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
DSC08712.jpg (433.5 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg
DSC08713.jpg (433.1 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by cdrod; February 5th, 2016 at 11:34 AM. Reason: bad grammer
Old February 5th, 2016, 12:32 PM

Hmm! CutlassEFI seems to be the procomp go to guy.
Old February 5th, 2016, 03:23 PM

What guide plates are on it?
Old February 5th, 2016, 03:26 PM
Chevy budget Olds powered

Am I the only one who thinks the studs are slightly on an angle. I would use a degree gauge on that if possible.
Old February 5th, 2016, 04:43 PM

1) Studs not perpendicular to head
2) Rocker arms not milled true for bearing

Those would be my guess
Old February 5th, 2016, 05:01 PM
Rodney

Originally Posted by cutlassefi
What guide plates are on it?