Oldsmobile 403 Cam Setup

Search this Thread

Old May 24th, 2021, 07:08 AM

Oldsmobile 403 Cam Setup

I'm new to Oldsmobile engines, my main expertise is Chevy small blocks. I got a '79 403 Oldsmobile smogger that I want to turn into a decent screamer with lots of low end torque. I wanted to put a rather hot cam in it, with 224/234 duration and .496/.520 lift for the idle and sound but I was wondering if it's even possible to run the engine with something that big.

I wanted to run the engine with this cam with the stock heads and rear end gears first to get a feel for the car, but I have a set of aluminum BBO heads and 3.73 rear end gears if it wouldn't work.
​​​​​​
Is it possible to run this cam or should I go with something a bit more tame?
Old May 24th, 2021, 11:26 AM
Out of Line, Everytime😉

The problem, even with the aluminum heads is the 8 to 1 compression you would have with stock pistons. The 3.73 would help and a 2500 stall converter minimum is also necessary.

Last edited by olds 307 and 403; July 4th, 2021 at 03:31 PM.
Old May 24th, 2021, 12:15 PM

Originally Posted by olds 307 and 403
The problem, even with the aluminum heads is the 8 to 1 compression you would have with stock pistons. The 3.73 would help and a 2500 stall convertef minimum is also necessary.
Would it be worth it to mill the aluminum heads down from a 77cc chamber down to like 70cc or even 64cc like the old 350 heads? Or would that create a problem with the bigger cam causing the valves to hit the pistons?
Old May 24th, 2021, 12:37 PM
Out of Line, Everytime😉