olds 403 help!

Search this Thread

Old July 1st, 2010, 02:02 PM

olds 403 help!

i recently put a new edelbrock performer rpm intake manifold, edelbrock 600 carb and a summit HEI distributor on my 403. Now my problem is i had it running after everything was put together, but it was running kinda sluggish.. it didnt seem to have all of the power it should. my buddy and i looked at it after we took it out for a drive and we re-arranged the plug wires and it didnt want to start back up after we did that. And even worse i didnt remember where i had them the first time, so i couldnt even get it back running. i know the firing order, but i dont know where they go on the distributor cap. ive re-arranged them several times and it doesnt want to start at all, and im getting frustrated. i may have gotten something wrong when i replaced the distributor.. im not an expert by no means, but im learning haha. any help would be greatly appreciated.. thanks
Old July 1st, 2010, 02:22 PM

This is simple. Turn the engine over by hand until the number one cylinder is on TDC. Remove the distributor cap and where the rotor is facing is number one. If I'm not mistaken Olds rotate counter clockwise so start at one and follow your firing order and VIOLA!
I'm guessing it's sluggish after putting in the distributor because either the mechanical or vacuum advance or both aren't adjusted properly.
I'm sure there will be a dozen more replies so hang in there
Old July 1st, 2010, 08:27 PM

Unless you have other performance mods, I believe the performer RPM alone will probably hurt your throttle response as well as your low end performance. Others who have dealt with this install can probably chime in as well. The RPM really helps when you have modifications, and even then only at higher rpm.
Old July 2nd, 2010, 04:32 PM